I just watched a high-quality (or higher-quality than the other crap resolution versions on the Internet) version of the American monster movie Cloverfield… and let me tell you, it was intense. I loved the way it was shot and the way the story was told… made it completely realistic and I felt like I was there with them. Shot in real time and without a soundtrack like other movies, it made it gritty and raw. Oh man, it was intense. Really good movie. Because of the first-person point of view and the lack of music, I actually felt the ending and wondered what I would be like had I been in the same situation as the characters. Oh man.

I wish I had seen this movie in theaters, motion sickness or not! (Actually, watching it on the computer didn’t make me sick at all… but when you’re in a dark movie theater watching it on a huge screen, you never know.) I think this was one of those movies that you have to watch in theaters to really feel it… I bet audiences just sat there in stunned, post-adrenaline-rush silence for like 5 minutes until the music in the credits started playing. Oh maaaaan. I would’ve so gone to watch it on screen if only for the audience experience! Unfortunately, trying to watch an American movie in a foreign country whose #1 movie genre is romance is a little difficult, especially because the local friends are not too keen on watching a “boom-crash-bombs-things-exploding” monster movie. Oh well. The audience reaction wouldn’t have been the same as an audience reaction in the States, too. 😦

I was reading some forums and message boards about the movie, and someone asked if the movie was scary. Um, I would say that it was shocking more than scary.

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

I say this because of the raw, gritty, first-person point of view that it was shot in, without any music embellishing the events. It was incredibly realistic, and that made me think about what it would be like had I been in the same situations – that frightened me. I especially felt this in the end scene right before Rob and Beth are bombed on – when Rob started speaking into the camera and the sirens suddenly start wailing – my heart sank and I felt this impending sense of doom, as if I were with them, especially when he trailed off and looked away when he heard the sirens. So yeah, the realistic way in which the movie was shot really shocked me. It was intense. The whole time, I was thinking, “OMG, what if I were in that situation; what would I do?!?!” That’s the sign of a good movie, if it makes the audience members feel like they are actually there with the characters.

*END SPOILERS* Haha.

However, so intense. I’m really interested in how they’re going to make the sequel! YAY~

