Haha, sounds like the title of a romance/wedding movie or something. But yes! September 8th was my cousin’s wedding here in Seoul, South Korea. He is 34 years old (I think) and a doctor. He married a fellow doctor. Go here to see the pictures. The wedding was held in this theater inside the Sheraton Hotel Walker Hill and so they got married on the stage. They stood on a glittering rising platform to reach the minister. There was also a runway to the stage. We also had a 4 course dinner. It was very nice. Comments will be with the pictures at the Flickr site above. Go go go! πŸ˜€

KOREAN CLASS:

So we had to write an essay for class. I am in the Advanced Korean 1 class. This is basically the fourth highest level out of six. Don’t let that semi-impressive sounding rank fool you. I’m very fluent in the Korean language (to the extent that people are constantly “amazed” at how well an American-born Korean can speak the language and comment on it constantly), but when it comes to writing and reading… *clears throat* You have to understand there are huge gaps and holes in my Korean language foundation. I never received any formal education in Korean. It’s always easier to speak a language than to learn its grammar, reading, and writing. Basically, I read and write like an elementary school kid, haha. One thing I hate is not knowing exactly if I’m saying something with the right connotation, formality, and politeness. (Ex. Correct: “She is very slim.” Incorrect and how I might say it: “She’s really darn skinny.” See the different?) I miss being able to know how to effortlessly say something without having doubts about the grammar, connotation, formality, and politeness. 😦 Because of the traditional Confucian ideals, Korea is very strict about formality and politeness.

My Korean reading speed is definitely going to be like this *snaps fingers* when I return! πŸ˜€

Speaking of returning… I really want to stay here one more semester. I just don’t want to go back. I really want to move here. I mean… who wants to return to Fresno after living for 6 months in one of the most amazing, busiest, dynamic, fun, stylish cities in the world? I know I definitely am going to request being transferred/dispatched to Seoul for a couple of years in my job.

Anyways, here’s the essay I wrote. People who can read Korean… don’t laugh at me. Ok, you can, but just know that I’m going to improve, haha. I talked to my mom over the phone yesterday, and she remarked, “Wow, Eunice, your Korean has improved SO much! You sound so educated!” HAHAHA. Oh, Mother.

여름 λ‚ μ”¨λŠ” λ‚ λ§ˆλ‹€ λ‹¬λ €μ§ˆ 수 μžˆλ‹€. ν•˜λ£¨λŠ” 햇빛이 λ‚˜κ³ , μ˜¨λ„λŠ” 26℃ 이상 μ•ˆ λ„˜κ³  λ°”λžŒμ΄ 살짝 λΆ€λŠ” 날도 있고; 또 ν•˜λ£¨λŠ” ν˜Έλž‘μ΄κ°€ μž₯κ°€κ°„λ‹€λŠ” 날씨도 μžˆλ‹€ (ν–‡λΉ› λ‚  λ•Œ λΉ„μ˜€λŠ” 것). 또 μ–΄λ–€ 날은 μŠ΅κΈ°λ„ μ—„μ²­ λ§Žμ•„μ„œ μ°μ°ν•˜λ‹€. 그런 날은 λ‚΄κ°€ 제일 μ‹«μ–΄ν•œλ‹€. ν•œκ΅­ μ—¬λ¦„μ—λŠ” μž₯λ§ˆκ°€ μ˜¨λ‹€. λ‚΄κ°€ μ‚¬λŠ” 곳은 여름 μž₯λ§ˆκ°€ μ—†λ‹€. ν•˜μ§€λ§Œ 여름에 λ„ˆλ¬΄ λ”μšΈ λ•Œ 에어컨을 많이 ν‹€λ©΄ 냉방병 걸릴 수 μžˆλ‹€. 이럴 λ•ŒλŠ” 쑰심해야 ν•œλ‹€.

Looks impressive, right? Not so. Translated into English, it’s:

“Summer weather can change from day to day. One day it can be a nice sunny, breezy day with a temperature of 26℃ (80 degrees F), and another day it can be sunny but raining at the same time. Some other days it can be very humid, so you feel sticky. I dislike those kinds of days. During summer in Korea, there is a monsoon season. We do not have monsoons where I live. If you turn on the air conditioner too much during the summer, you can catch a cold. You must be careful of this.”

Totally could win the Korean Pulitzer Prize. Or something. Yes, I have far to go. Be quiet.

Will update again, this time with a description of the Korean Thanksgiving holiday, which we just finished~! \:D/ I miss all of you very much! πŸ˜₯

P.S. Sample pics just so you’re persuaded to go and see more (shameless plug):

Am going to get my hair cut and styled Korean-style very very soon. I’d like it to be done within this week… Hmmmm. I hope I look good, but not too different! *worries* Ever since that one butcher-cut on my hair in 9th grade, I’ve always been really paranoid about cutting hair unless it’s someone trustworthy, which is why my hair is so long, haw haw.

