So I’ve FINALLY been able to knock this blog into a presentable form. Wow, so much has gone on in these past three weeks I’ve been here. This was my first week of school. I’m taking:

1. BUSS 205 – Marketing Management (MW – 3:30)

2. BUSS 311 – Organizational Behavior (TTh – 9:00)

3. BUSS 313 – International Business (MW – 9:00)

4. Korean Language Level 4 (MTWTh – 2:00)

As you can see, I have no Friday class. Bwa ha ha. But I also have this lame gap between classes (for example, my first class finishes at 10:15 AM, but my next class is at 2 PM), so I can’t really do anything and have to stick around campus. D;

Classes are interesting. I’m taking classes taught in English, not Korean (I would probably fail if I did, no matter how good my Korean is). One of my professors is Korean, another is German, and the last one is German-Korean. I don’t know why, but the lectures are somehow so much more interesting and engaging than the ones I took back home… (OOPS, SHOULD I HAVE SAID THAT? OMG) Why am I taking such a small amount of classes (4 classes = 12 units = the minimum credits required)? Back at home, I would normally take around 19-21 units (which is about 7-9 classes), but several people recommended that I take the smallest number of classes in order to have more time to go out and EXPERIENCE Korea, rather than just constantly be studying for classes. Good advice, no?

An interesting thing I noticed about my Korean language class is that there are a lot of Chinese and Japanese exchange students. They can speak Korean pretty well! There are 6 levels of Korean classes for exchange students (6 being the most advanced), so it’s very impressive that so many people can speak Korean.

So let’s talk about one of my most favorite subjects: fashion. Korean fashion is very stylish. When I first came here, I immediately vowed to myself to return to the States with a renewed sense of style (and you all know how fashion-obsessed I’ve become lately, even before I came here haha). All of the young people here have at least some sense and degree of fashion. There is no unattractive person here because they all know how to have their hair cut/styled, and how to dress. (If you want to see what Korean fashion generally looks like, go here and click on the links beside the “Women” and “Man” sections.) Koreans are pretty dressy (it is also Seoul, the capital city, so people are very fashion-forward). The school has so many steep hills, but you see almost 90% of the women wearing heels walking up and down those hills as if they’ve been doing it forever. I really don’t know how they don’t fall or twist an ankle or etc.

So the shopping in America seems nice, right? Good quality clothes available for a wide range of cheap to overpriced prices, right? Well. The clothes in Korea are overpriced, but AMAZING IN CUT, QUALITY, AND DESIGN. Dear God. I was astounded. They’re just cut and sewn in a level of quality that I haven’t seen American clothes manufacturers capture yet. Like, it’s unbelievable. Korean clothes are soooo pretty.

But! Let’s move onto the real topics for today!

FOOD OF THE DAY:

A typical Korean meal, complete with rice (middle bottom), kimchi (pickled spicy cabbage, bottom left), pickled cucumbers (middle left), lettuce leaves to make wraps (top middle), and bulgogi (barbecued beef except this one is more like beef stew, far right).

IT (“Interesting Thing”) OF THE DAY

So many people think of South Korea as some quiet little Second World country with many undeveloped resources that just minds its own business. This couldn’t be further from the truth. Korea is one of the world’s technological powerhouses, and is currently ranked #11 or #12 in the world in standard of living/GDP. You probably noticed brands such as Samsung, LG, Hyundai, and KIA; these are all Korean companies, and they are gradually, but quietly, rising in the American market (they’ve already established their niches in other parts of the world). Korea is incredibly advanced in technology, and surpasses America in many technology-related categories, especially in electronics (read: cell phones). This gadget above is one of those advanced pieces of technology. It’s a key and alarm system for a car all in one. You can lock and unlock your car from an extremely wide range, start the ignition while you’re outside the car, and can set up an alarm. However, it’s a bit pricey to get the system installed (either $2,000 or $20,000). My uncle has it, and boy, is it convenient. Never worry about leaving your doors unlocked again.

KOREAN WORD OF THE DAY:

안녕하세요!

Pronounced: “Ahn-young hah-seh-yoh”

Definition: The most basic phrase of the Korean language, this means “Hello!” in formal form. The Korean language has two forms, formal and informal. Formal is obviously used for people you have just met, strangers, and elders. Informal is used for your good friends and maybe your parents. The informal form is 안녕, and is pronounced “Ahn-young”. Arrested Development fans should immediately get this. >:D

MISCELLANEOUS PICTURES:

So all of the exchange students went on a tour of Seoul (the capital city of Korea, and ultimately the biggest city), and one of our stops was the National Museum of Art. There, we saw artifacts from Korea’s past, including this painting of a Korean magistrate in the ancient days. I really dig his hat. Actually, I dig his whole outfit. Sometimes, I imagine myself living in the ancient days as the daughter of a wealthy nobleman… *dreamy*

Capri Sun is also available in Korea (you can see the Korean name). The price is not $3, 950. The Korean currency is called the won (W), so the price for one box is W3,950. That’s about $3.95 in United States Dollars. Converting Korean won to US dollars is quite easy; you just drop a certain number of zeros. (Ex. W10 = $0.01, W100 = $0.10, W1000 = $1, W10,000 = $10)

A Korean Starbucks! This one is located inside my school; it’s practically the same! (Except for how the menu is written, of course.) Haha, Andrea, you would feel immediately at home. One different thing about coffee houses and cafes in Korea is that you have an option of “recycling” your cup when you’re done. What you do is pay about $0.10 extra when buying the drink, then if you finish your drink in the cafe, you can return it and receive the $0.10 back. ISN’T THIS EFFICIENT AND GREAT FOR THE ENVIRONMENT?!?! Why can’t the US do this?! I bet the US is the number one nation for producing the most waste material.

Anyways. This is the end of my first post; hope you enjoyed it. MUCH more is to come! 😀 Have a great day, and I miss all my Fresno people! *kiss kiss*

P.S. For the first week I was here, I seriously contemplated moving here. I’m still thinking about it. D;

